RIP Coco Bunny

This morning as we were leaving our little Netherland dwarf rabbit Coco looked like she was having a fit and hauled herself into her bed. I didn’t want to upset the kids so I let nature run its course, thinking I’d be coming home to deal with an ex-bunny.

When I checked in the hutch later she was still struggling to get in to her bed from the corridor that links it to the rest of the hutch. I felt dreadful for having left her. We made a mercy dash to the vet and it turns out she had Encephalitozoon cuniculi, a parasite which all rabbits have in their inner ear but for some reason it sometimes starts breeding and causes terrible labrynthitis. She had her head curled upside down underneath her body because that was the way that caused her the least confusion and discomfort. She couldn’t use her back paws and her eyes were flickering. The vet’s mum breeds rabbits and is known as the Mad Rabbit Lady locally apparently and in the past she’s tried treating the condition unsuccessfully and now when she sees the first signs she brings them to her son to have them put to sleep.

Random pics 006

MiniMe was very brave and when told the options thought it best to have Coco put to sleep so we said our last goodbyes then had a good cry together before the vet brought her back to use. I’ll take her to the local pet crematorium then we can scatter her ashes along with her hutch sister who died 18 months ago. Bye bye Coco Bunny.

One a scarier note I handed in my first four submissions for a competition at the local photographic society which I joined just before Christmas. The subject is monochrome and although I love these I’m not sure what the judge will make of them. This is even more nerve-wracking than having to read out a children’s story I wrote to Maisie author Aileen Paterson. All I know is that one of these is already on my wall and two of the others will be getting printed and framed shortly so unless its technical criticism I’ll be ignoring any comments!

B1_Going_to_San_Francisco

B2_Man's_best_friend

B3_Queen_of_the_track

Piper resized

 

Today I have learned:

  • my daughter can have a fair debate about euthanasia
  • losing a pet will always be tough
  • I’m far too critical of my own photos and have probably deleted more than I should

Today’s recipe

Chicken noodle slurp

20130108_185359_LLS

Serves 4

This is called slurp because it’s the only way to eat soup with noodles in it!

Ingredients:

1 pack of chicken thighs and wings

10 back peppercorns

2 star anise

1 cinnamon stick,

1 tsp sugar

2 tsp Lazy Ginger

bunch of spring onions, chopped

3 heads of spring greens, outer leaves discarded and the rest shredded and stalk removed

enough fine noodles for 4

basil for sprinkling

Method: Remove the chicken skins and place in a stock pot with the spices, ginger and sugar. Pour in 1 litre of water and bring to the boil. Simmer covered for 25 minutes. Remove the chicken pieces and shred on a chopping board, removing any bones. Remove the cinnamon and star anise then put the chicken pieces back in the pan.

Cook the noodles as per instructions. Add the greens and the spring onions to the soup pan.

Divide the noodles into four bowls then ladle over the soup. Sprinkle with the basil and serve with crusty bread.

Leave a Reply

