Final goodbyes and losing the plot

Ah, Friday how much I look forward to you.

At lunchtime I had to take Coco Bunny to the local pet crematorium. It’s a calm and peaceful place to be and strangely happy as the staff are so nice and chatty. I felt a bit bad handing over the old toaster box that we’d had to put her in but they took her and laid her out nicely so I could say my last goodbyes. I pick up the ashes tomorrow then it’s a full state funeral for her and Sugar, her hutch sister, before a ceremonial scattering of their ashes somewhere they can dig up spiritual carrots forever more.

20130111_123356

Got back to work then straight into a web meeting and promptly had a row with someone. I’m pretty laid back but when I feel like my opinion is being ridiculed it makes me mad, especially if my opinion is backed up by other people’s research, which this was. I could feel my cheeks getting redder by the minute which then embarrassed me and I went even redder. If anyone has any tips for overcoming this please let me know. Aside from calming the redness some Ninja meeting skills would be good.

Tonight MiniMe’s off to a party. HimIndoors has just taken her to the disco and I’ve to pick her up at 10pm. She asked me to do her eye shadow which I did with smoky silvers and greys with some smudged black eyeliner. She was over the moon but I just looked at her and wanted to cry. I really don’t know where the time has gone. It seems like only yesterday it was Disney Princesses and Barbies – now it’s BBM, Converse and Dr Marten boots. There are moments like that which make parents cry for the child/baby that was but I’m really happy with the young woman she’s turning into. I just hope she is and she doesn’t look back and wish she’d had a different kind of mum. I wonder if I’ll still be blogging then? I’ll keep you posted if I am!

Today I have learned:

  • I don’t like me when I’m angry
  • I’m a bad Taoist but it only really works if those around you are practising Taoists too

Today’s recipe

Tonight we had take-out so this is the recipe for the stuffing I always make to go with the ham, including the Christmas baked one from earlier in the week.

Gingerbread stuffing

Ingredients:

2 small onions, chopgingerbread stuffingped finely

1 apple, peeled, cored and chopped finely

20g butter

1 tbsp oil

1 pack smoked bacon, finely chopped

zest of 1 orange

1 pack of Kirriemuir gingerbread (this is good as it has raisins in it but don’t get the iced stuff!)

1 egg, beaten

freshly ground black pepper

Method: Heat the butter and oil in a frying pan. Fry the onion and apple for about 10 minutes until soft.

Add the bacon and cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the orange zest.

Take the pan off the cooker, let it cool slightly then crumble the gingerbread in. Add the egg and pepper and mix well. Turn into a baking dish and bake in a hot oven for 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

