I’m famous and I’m an expert – allegedly

Apparently I’m a social media expert!

That’s according to Kate Shannon in her recent Holyrood article entitled Why #hurricanebawbag made more sense. Kate interviewed me by phone well before Christmas, after a tip-off by Leah Lockhart that, if they needed someone who knows about using social media in emergencies, I was their wummin.

Kate and I discussed it for 20 minutes and I distinctly remember saying I’d never call myself a social media expert but that yes, I had done some academic research around the subject.

I kept checking the Holyrood magazines as they came into the office but the article was never in so I guessed I hadn’t made the grade or they’d decided me yammering on about Hurricane Bawbag was highly inappropriate.

Then I forgot about it.

Then Leah reminded me about it.

Then she found it online.

Portfolio-Local-Government-300x199

I still don’t think I’m an expert but what I did say actually makes sense and so far the people who have read it agree. Let me know what you think.

So maybe I do talk sense and according on one of our managers I did it twice today.

Aside from that it was a day of uploading web content to a new site and getting lost in categorisation and granularity. And that made no sense at all so I’m back to normal!

Today I learned

  • I really need to knock my confidence into shape
  • I like seeing my name in print
  • I talk both sense and nonsense

Today’s recipe

Goan tuna

20130123_190820_LLS

Serves 2, although the sauce probably serves 4.

Ingredients

2 tuna steaks

half tsp mustard seeds

half tsp cumin seeds

1 lemon, grate the rind off one

2.5 tsp Lazy Red Chillies

3tbsp coriander leaves chopped

500 mls passata

half a tsp ground cumin

half tsp ground cardamom

half a tsp Lazy Ginger

400ml tin coconut milk

splash of oil

Method: Put the mustard and cumin seeds in a shallow dish along with the lemon rind, half of the chillies and the coriander and mix together.

Rinse the tuna under a cold tap and pat dry with kitchen towel. Squeeze the juice of half a lemon over the tuna, over the dish so the excess is caught. Add the tuna to the dish and coat with the mixture. Leave to chill for 30 minutes.

Fir the sauce out the passata in a pot along with the rest of the spices and the ginger. Simmer for 3 minutes then add the coconut milk and cook for a further 3 minutes. Add the lemon juice and season to taste.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan and brown the tuna on both sides. How long they cook for will depend on their thickness and how rare or well done you like your tuna.

Serve with some sauce and rice (I’ll do a fail-safe recipe tomorrow) and naan bread. Reserve the rest of the sauce to serve in a jug at the table. If there’s any left it will freeze and you could use it as a kind of cook-in sauce for chicken.

Leave a Reply

