Biro is the new reminder app

Spent most of today on two jobs: finishing off the instructions for getting the most out of the Meteo weather forecast that many Scottish councils use; and transferring over to the new upgraded version of MediaFunnel, our social media monitoring and publishing tool. I have to say it looks fab although I haven’t had much time to play with the new features. My main challenge at the moment is that it doesn’t seem to work in IE8 but it does work in Firefox which means that everyone using it will have to contravene our IT laws and have a non-Microsoft and unsupported application downloaded onto their PCs. Sound familiar to anyone else?

In other news I was asked if I could lend someone in the office a copy of Fodor’s Around Paris with Kids.

Did I write it in my new Filofax? No.

Did I set myself an alarm on my phone? No.

Did I put a reminder in the calendar in my phone? No.

Did I tweet myself? No.

I resorted to the age-old method of writing it on the back of my hand with a biro. Did it work? Yes. Can I find the book anywhere? No 😦

20130125_104236_LLS

Today I have learned:

  • Lo-fi is sometimes best
  • I may have an actual reading room with a library but I still lose books

Today’s recipe:

Garlic chilli chicken

20130125_193720_LLS

Serves 2 adults and 2 kids

Ingredients

Ground nut oil for frying

2 chicken breasts, diced

cornflour and seasoning to coat the chicken

1 onion sliced

4 garlic cloves, sliced

a handful of mushrooms sliced

2 spring onions, sliced

1 sweet red pepper, sliced

Chinese cooking wine

soy sauce

sweet chilli sauce

noodles to serve

Method: Put the cornflour, seasoning and chicken in a freezer bag and shake to coat.

Heat the a tbsp of oil in a wok and fry off the chicken, shaking off the excess cornflour before you put it in. You may have to do this in batches – if you do clean out the wok between each batch or the cornflour will burn. Put the chicken on kitchen towel to remove any excess oil.

Heat some more oil and tip in all the veg and stir fry. Add a good glug each of the wine, soy sauce and chilli sauce. Add the chicken, heat through and serve on a bed of noodles.

Leave a Reply

