There’s more to recycling than targets

Today I was meant to be cleaning the oven, sorting out music for my phone and doing some homework for my complexity course.

Instead I spent some time making an unidentified object out of the contents of the recycling box with MiniHim – it started out as a dinosaur and finished off as an army gun tower. I was quite pleased with the results but then the paints came out. We never had empty washing up bottles or toilet roll tubs lying about when I was wee because they all went straight in the bin. I was always disappointed when Blue Peter started a major project because I never had the materials to hand. Changed days!

I was in the kitchen making soup when MiniHim came through with paint all over his hands – then I spotted his feet. I had to strip him where he stood, carry him downstairs and deposit him in the shower. We’re still cleaning up after that art project.

After the kids had polished off the soup MiniMe pointed out it was Pancake Day so I thought I’d make a batch and save some to make Crepes Suzette for our dessert. Crepes Suzette may be a bit retro but it’s my favourite, although my version looks a bit odd because I have  Blue Curacao in the house instead of Cointreau. It goes green when you make the butter for the pancakes and the sauce but it tastes yummy.

The only other news I have is that I may have broken something in my foot, or at least badly bruised it. I came downstairs after taking that dodgy medication and lost my balance at the bottom of the steps and crashed my foot into the door jamb. I actually cried for about five minutes and I had to make the soup standing on one leg but I think I’ll live.

Today I have learned:

  • red paint gets everywhere, even if you put a mat down
  • spending time with your child and a pile of recycling is infinitely better than cleaning the oven
  • Crepes Suzette may be passe but they’re still damn tasty

Today’s recipe

Crepes Suzette

wpid-20130212_195439_LLS.jpg

Ingredients

For the crepes – makes 12

60g unsalted butter

butter for frying

300g plain flour

650mls milk

2 eggs

For the butter

230g butter

10 tbsp sugar

grated zest of four oranges

4 tsp Curacao or Cointreau

For the sauce

juice of 4 oranges

4 tbsp sugar

4 tbsp Curacao or Cointreau

Method:

For the pancakes

Melt the butter. Put the flour, eggs and half the milk in a bowl and  whisk well. Add the melted butter and whisk. Add the rest of the milk and whisk well until smooth.

Heat a large frying pan and put in a tiny bit of butter, spreading it as it melts with a piece of kitchen towel – you do this before each crepe. Put a ladleful of the batter into the pan and swirl it round till the bottom of the pan is covered. Leave until golden then flip using a palette knife or a fish slice. You could try flipping it if you feel really lucky and your pan is non-stick. Brown for a few minutes on the other side then remove to a plate. Repeat till the batter is all gone.

For the butter

Cream the butter and the sugar. Add the zest and the liqueur. Spread each crepe with the flavoured butter, fold in half, then in half again (see picture). You can either heat these in the microwave before you add the sauce or you can wrap in tinfoil and heat in the oven. At this stage they can also be wrapped in tinfoil and kept in the fridge for a couple of days. I suspect they could also be frozen but they never last long enough in this house to need freezing.

For the sauce

Boil the orange juice and sugar for a few moments then add the liqueur. At this point you can just pour the sauce over the crepes and serve. If you want to be flash you can put the crepes back in the frying pan to heat through, pour the bubbling juice and sugar over the top then take the pan to the table where you can add the liqueur and hold a match to the surface to produce a flame.

Leave a Reply

