Hooked on classic vinyl

I regret getting rid of all my vinyl when I made the change to CD. Luckily the classics I borrowed from my parents made their way back to them – all the Beatles, Bowie, T-Rex and Jimi Hendrix. But I lost all my Velvet Underground, Byrds and Monkees when I replaced them with shiny plastic. HimIndoors watched BBC4’s recreation of the Beatles’ Please Please Me last night and about halfway through I started lamenting the rich warm tones of vinyl and the crackle as the needle made contact. We’ve decided to buy a turntable, invest in a really good stylus and start collecting all the stuff from the ’60s and ’70s that I miss.

Today MiniHim got his first big boy swimming award. For the first time since starting school he’ll have something to take in for the achievement wall. He’s doing really well in his new class and I’ve come to the conclusion he’s probably a better swimmer than me now.

20130216_181750

Aside from that I took my new 35mm lens out for a spin today but got distracted from taking photos by a trip to Strathaven’s only two charity shops where I picked up an intact box of the Never Mind The Buzzcocks board game. I also did my weekly trip to my butcher and the queue was out the door – I can’t imagine why 😉

The only other thing of note is another infestation picked up by MiniMe at school – again. Bring back the nit nurse I say. When the nit nurse was done away with, schools used to send out letters to parents warning them that the little blighters were about but apparently that led to kids being teased. Now we have kids too ashamed to admit they have them so they just keep spreading them again and again. We’ve had to move onto a new treatment as apparently they become resistant after two uses of the same product and the handy hints on these instructions says that a treated person can be infected again within hours if they have head contact with another infected person. It’s about time we were honest about it – we wouldn’t send our kids to school with chicken pox or measles now, would we?

Today I have learned:

  • as well as cockroaches, head lice may well survive a nuclear attack
  • I miss LPs and I don’t care if that makes me sound ancient

Today’s recipe

Pork stir fry

20130216_184530_LLS

Serves 4

I served this with Perfect Every Time Rice but this time I used a mulled wine sachet – I’m telling you these little teabags bursting with spice are underused and under-valued.

Ingredients

sunflower oil for frying

4 pork loin steaks, sliced thinly

1 small onion, quartered

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped,

4 large mushrooms, sliced

1 bell pepper, halved then sliced, seeds removed

1 tsp Lazy Red Chillies

a good couple of glugs of oyster sauce

a good dash of Chinese cooking wine

3 spring onions chopped

Method: Heat the oil in a wok, fry off the pork and remove onto a plate. Add the vegetables to the wok with the chillies and stir fry till just cooked. Add the pork back into the wok with the oyster sauce, wine and spring onions and heat through. Serve with the rice and prawn crackers.

Leave a Reply

