No rest for the aethiests

I really don’t know what I’d do if I was a Christian – Sunday is my most productive day. Taking time out for church or, heaven forbid, Sunday being a day of rest, would mean that my children would have no clean clothes to wear, we would have no dinner on Tuesday, the bathroom would be filthy and we’d have to resort to shop-bought biscuits instead of homebaking.

Today started off with a breakfast of bacon, tatty scone and fried egg rolls – breakfast of champions to set me up for the day ahead.

Next it was to make old-fashioned mushroom soup for Tuesday’s dinner – I’m always in a hurry to get to camera club so I have to cook ahead. Then it was a shower for me then the bathroom got a good clean.

After that it was the baking of the best chocolate brownies in the world, courtesy of an old Nigel Slater recipe cut out of The Observer Magazine years ago (I’ll blog these recipes later in the week). After that I took time out to go out in the car scouting for potential photographs. I took the camera and my new 35mm lens just in case but, although it was a lovely day, it was pretty misty. I’ve found some good locations – I just need the weather to match. It was amazing going out on the little B roads I usually just drive past and although  some people think Stonehouse is a bit of a dive it is set in some beautiful countryside.

IMG_8662

When I came home it was time to get the dinner on and we had one of MiniMe’s friends over too. I decided to concoct some little potato cakes using a fried egg ring and they were damn tasty so that’s the recipe you’re getting tonight although you could make them without the rings.

All through the day it was washing and drying clothes then after dinner it was ironing. After this blog I’ll be studying ant behaviour on NetLogo, then maybe a cuppa before bed.

Today I have learned:

  • Sunday is definitely not a day of rest
  • there shoud be an EU ruling to create a new day of rest for non-Christians
  • I live in a beautiful place in the world

Today’s recipe

Potato cakes

wpid-20130217_182103_LLS.jpg

Ingredients

as many potatoes as you’d use for mashed potato for the number of people you’re cooking for, peeled and cut into chunks

butter for mashing

1 spring onion per person, sliced thinly

1 tbsp tarragon, chopped

oil for frying

Method: Boil the potatoes in salted water till soft. Drain well then mash with the butter. Add the spring onions and tarragon and continue mashing.

Heat the oil in a frying pan and when hot put in the egg rings. Spoon in the mashed potato and smooth over with the back of a spoon. Fry till golden then slide off the ring and flip with a fish slice. Fry on the other side then transfer to the oven to keep warm and repeat till all the mash is used up.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Tea for two | carolynemitchell

Leave a Reply

