I’ve only gone and won – again!

I’ve only gone and won another competition at the camera club! When I submitted these for the natural history section I thought I was really scraping the barrel but I must be the worst critic of my own work.

B2 Birch Knight

The judge liked the angles in this one and how the fern followed the line of the tree trunk. He also liked the detail that the moss added. His only criticism was the shadow which he said he would have cloned out but the rules of the competition are ‘no cloning allowed’.

B3 Apple Blossom

He liked the simplicity of this and the angle of the main branch. He commented on how I’d picked the four blossoms in a line to be in focus with the rest falling out of focus below. Total fluke on my part, I have to admit.

B1 Harris Hawk

This one was the one that won overall and he said there was nothing he would change about it – pin sharp with good eye-catch. The natural history section aggregates the three scores but, even at that, I came out top.

I have to say I was a bit mortified. I’m in the door five minutes and have won the first two competitions I’ve entered. I even get a crystal trophy for this one at the dinner later in the year. I think I may have put a few noses out of joint but what the hell, if I keep winning I’ll get moved up into the advanced section but I don’t really want that because I truly have no clue about what I’m doing.

Other than that it’s been a day of productive web meetings and the same again tomorrow. One meeting was with my friend Lindy who looks after the housing content on our site. She’s always been an early adopter of Apple products and is pretty much tooled up. This is what her colleagues made for her recently (I want one!).

20130219_110850_LLS

On the complexity course I’ll be moving onto Dynamics and Chaos and I’ve just signed up for an online photography course so there really is no rest for the wicked 😉

Today I have learned:

  • I like to be busy
  • cutting mount boards late at night only leads to disaster

Today’s recipe

Old-fashioned mushroom soup

20130215_181801_LLS

This is old-fashioned because it uses bread to thicken it, rather than flour or potato and is a recipe taken and adapted from the Elizabeth David book I picked up in Oxfam the other day.

Ingredients

1 slice of white bread, crusts removed and given to the birds

1 litre veg stock

a large knob of butter

375g mushrooms, chopped (stalks too)

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

a good glug of double cream

seasoning

dusting of nutmeg

Method: Soak the bread in a little of the stock. Melt the butter in a large pan and tip in the mushrooms. When the moisture starts to come from them add the garlic, seasoning and nutmeg and parsley and continue to cook for a while.

Squeeze the moisture out of the bread and stir it into the mushrooms. Add the stock and cook for 15 minutes until soft. Whizz in a liquidiser, add the cream and whizz a bit more. Heat again to serve.

Leave a Reply

