I wish I was going camping

I spent most of the morning trying to get a 9Mb presentation to Argyll & Bute Council which I’m showing at their CMT on Wednesday. First it was blocked from our end because of its size. We unblocked it and sent it on its merry way then it was blocked at their end. I then tried sending it from a non-networked Mac from my Gmail account but it still hasn’t arrived. Next I’ve to try sending it from home to a member of the A&B team at home. I did think about a Prezi but decided it wasn’t a risk worth taking. I’ll be taking it on a memory stick on the day but wish me luck anyway!

I decided yesterday that I should smarten up this week what with a CMT presentation and speaking at the LGComms conference on Friday. Only problem is I grudge spending money on work clothes but I’ve discovered the Clearance pages on the Next website so that got a pretty heavy hit yesterday by yours truly. It all arrived today so I’ll have a trying on sesh after this. I have two pairs of shoes, linen cropped trousers, a red flared skirt, a patterned flippy skirt, a geometric patterned Hobbs skirt and a top – all for much cheapness. I’ll have to nip over to my hairdresser tomorrow lunch time to see if he can fit me in for that Uma Thurman haircut I’ve been promising myself.

Tonight is the CommsCamp curry before tomorrow’s event. I’m really sorry to be missing both the curry and the serious stuff. Both will be teaming with people at the top of their game, people who always seem to be at the top of their game and who will always motivate and inspire me – you all know who you are 😉 You can follow the action tomorrow by following #commscamp13 – I recommend it. They’ll also be live streaming the event but I’m guessing if I can’t send a big email easily, the tech know-how won’t let me tune in.

Just thought I’d share this pic of our little Maple cat. She’s no longer the scrawny shy thing we brought home from the SPCA home. She’s filled out, has a beautiful coat, sparkly eyes and a fabulous personality. This seems to be her new favourite spot – our recycling box – or maybe it just reminds her of the day she was found in a box in a park.

20130225_190338_LLS

On other news I’ve made arrangements with the museum assistant to go to the museum next Wednesday to see the war diaries and Thomas Banks’ memoirs – so exciting 🙂

Today I have learned:

  • creating a newsletter template in Word isn’t as easy as I thought it would be
  • Cormac Smith, Chair of LGComms has broken his leg – get well Cormac x
  • this house eats socks, hair elastics and plectrums

Today’s recipe

Salmon with soy, balsamic and lime sauce

20130225_183731_LLS

Serves 2

Ingredients

2 skinless salmon fillets

2 tbsp soy sauce

5 tbsp brown sugar

6 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 lime, zested and juiced

1 tsp ground coriander

Method: Wrap the salmon in tinfoil and put in the oven for 20 minutes at 180C/Gas 6.

Put the rest of the ingredients in a small saucepan and heat through.

Serve the salmon with some green beans, cous cous and the sauce with the extra sauce in a jog on the table.

2 comments

  1. kate Goodall · February 25, 2013

    Trust me to comment on the food stuff rather than the comms stuff…. I read somewhere that citrus and aluminium foil shouldn’t come into contact, so I always add a layer of baking parchment when baking fish. Might be a crock, I dunno. I just figure it doesn’t do any harm and helps keep the steam in.

    • carolynemitchell · February 26, 2013

      I’ve heard of fat not coming into contact with clingfilm but not citrus and tinfoil. I’ll bear that in mind though – ta 🙂

Leave a Reply

