A night out with added soul

This will definitely be a short blog because HimIndoors and I are going out tonight. This is a really unusual occurence and one we’ve been working up to for quite some time. As you all know I’m a huge fan of the Craig Charles Soul and Funk Show on Radio 6 and you’ll usually find me dancing in the kitchen on a Saturday night while I’m cooking. Imagine my excitement when I stumbled across the Lanarkshire Soul Collective on Facebook. These guys post regular links to soul, funk and rare groove tunes on YouTube but they also run soul nights in Lanarkshire. That’s where we’re off to tonight. Apparently there’s a hard core of old Northern Soul boys who’ll be shaking some talc on the dance floor and throwing some serious moves. I’m thinking this may be a recce for a future photo shoot.

555331_527600583931336_1975543617_n

Anyway we’re having dinner at my parents’ and staying over so they can look after the Minis in the comfort of their own house.

I just thought I’d throw in a photo of the height chart that hangs in our room. I made it when MiniMe was more mini from some bamboo, a measuring tape, a length of cotton fabric and felt squares. I’m not crafty in any way so I’m quite proud of it. MiniHim is measured on it too and they’ll both be stood against it tomorrow morning for a height check.

wpid-20130302_180251_LLS.jpg

Today I have learned:

  • old photos of my parents are starting to appear on Facebook
  • Facebook is for embarrassing parents as well as children

Today’s recipe

Venison casserole

wpid-20130302_184009_LLS.jpg

This recipe comes courtesy of my mum, Mary and it’s yummy. There’s a country estate about a mile up the road where they rear deer so the food miles for this dish, served in the house is about as low as they get.

Ingredients

1 tbsp oil

a dod of butter

2 onions, sliced

4 garlic cloves, sliced

4 rashers of smoked bacon, chopped

500g mushrooms, sliced

2.5kg venison haunch, cubed

half a bottle of red wine

400mls water

2 beef stock cubes

3tbsp redcurrant jelly

50g cornflour mixed in 2tbsp water

Method: Heat the oven to 150C/Gas 2. Melt the butter in the oil in a large flameproof casserole. Brown the venison in batches and remove. If you need to melt a little more butter and oil in the casserole and cook the onions till soft. Add the garlic, bacon and mushrooms and cook for another minute. Add the venison back to the casserole.

Add the red wine, water, redcurrant jelly and crumble in the stock cubes. Season.

Bring to the boil and stir well. Put on the lid and stick in the oven for 90 minutes.

Remove from the oven, add the cornflour paste a little at the time on the hob till the sauce is as thick as you like – this takes about 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

