Me and thermodynamics

Today’s first meeting was about social media complaints handling. Most of the time the person doesn’t even realise their tweet could be classified as a complaint so I never direct them to the official complaints form first off. I always try to help them myself, either by answering the question directly or pointing them to a webpage or online form. If I don’t know the answer I pass it on to the service for an answer and that either points to a gap in the information on the website or that the query is a one-off. If, after that the customer still complains then it goes through the official process. I don’t see the point in jumping straight to that if I can neutralise the complaint or turn it into a compliment by helping out.

We ‘re keeping a log for the next month of everything that comes in via email to the website and on social media just to see what we can do to make the process slicker and if there are any trends worth noting.

In the afternoon we had a workshop planned for a new website for the Child Protection Committee which will be a resource for children, parents, the voluntary sector and practitioners. I thought I’d have a look at what other councils and organisations are doing and started with ChildLine. I kind of got distracted by their volunteering section and before I knew it I’d filled out an application to be a school service volunteer going into schools to talk to children about what help is out there for them and how to get it.

ChildLine

I don’t know how the application will get on but I think ‘d really enjoy the work. What’s more if I get the gig MiniMe won’t be able to threaten me with phoning ChildLine because I’ll be ChildLine. Needless to say I didn’t get any further with my research before the meeting!

Today I have learned:

  • the first and second laws of thermodynamics
  • the statistical mechanics version goes something like this: in an isolated system, the system will tend to progress to the most probable macrostate (so there!)

Today’s recipe

Free-form spinach and ricotta ravioli

wpid-20130307_190514_LLS.jpg

Serves 4-6 depending on what you serve it with.

This is more of an assembly job than a proper recipe but it’s very quick and tasty.

Ingredients

1 packet of fresh lasagne sheets

oil for brushing

300-400g ricotta cheese

1 packet of baby spinach

black pepper

2 jars of Loyd Grossman Mediterranean roast vegetables sauce

a couple of handfuls of grated cheese

Method: Soak the lasagne sheets in boiling water for 5 minutes. Brush the bottom of an oven dish with oil. Heat the oven to 200C/Gas 6.

Take out a sheet and put about 1 tbsp ricotta cheese on one half, season with black pepper then put some spinach leaves on top of the cheese. Fold the sheet over on itself and press down on the edges. It won’t seal but that doesn’t matter.

Repeat with the others, overlapping the parcels in the dish.

Spread over the jars of sauce, sprinkle with grated cheese and back for 10-15 minutes.

2 comments

  1. MarCommsKenny · March 7, 2013

    Very amusing post ☺

Leave a Reply

