Social media is a risky business

This morning found us doing some risk assessments specific to the team. I had to make sure that my biggest issue was recorded – we don’t, at the moment have access to the right tools to be able to do social media properly. Even if we use our own devices we wouldn’t be able to access work email on the gsx system. We’re told the only device that lets us is a Blackberry which for the rest of our work doesn’t quite cut it. For instance last night at the Parent Council conference I tethered my netbook to my mobile because I knew that by using them I’d be able to access Tweetdeck on the web, so I could post simultaneously on the corporate account and my own but that I’d also have access straight into the corporate account and be  able to take photos and upload them to the stream immediately. If I’d tried that on a networked PC I would have been struggling. I don’t mind using my tech for work – I’m on an all-you-can-eat-data tariff anyway but it would be nice if the insurance was paid as I doubt I’d get a payout if my phone got lost, stolen or broken while using it for work.

On another note, if anyone can explain the gsx system in words of one syllable I’ll buy you a drink. I only use it for one local government colleague whose email won’t work without it but everyone else’s just ends in .gov.uk. Someone in local gov said they couldn’t email a generic Cabinet Office email account because they weren’t on the gsx system and someone else has told me that it gives us access to government databases that we’d never want to look at anyway.

In the afternoon I had a meeting with our Licensing people and we’re planning a Twitter surgery in June where we’ll have a couple of Licensing Standards Officers on hand to answer any tweets from licencees or start-ups not sure about the licences they need. One of the officers was clearly uncomfortable at the whole idea but once I explained how it would all work he came around to the idea and saw its value. I had forgotten how daunting all this Twitter nonsense can be when you first start out.

HimIndoors is a member of Cilip (Chartered Institute of Librarian and Information Professionals) and their monthly magazine was behind the door tonight. There’s usually something I’m interested in in each issue and this is this month’s – an infographich which describes how a Boolean search works. It also made me smile 🙂

wpid-20130315_205523_LLS.jpg

Today I have learned:

  • Twitter scares people
  • MiniHim’sschool work is beautiful, but he had a few attitude problems (according to his teacher)
  • HimIndoors and I probably have a few attitude problems too
  • we need to address both of the above problems (it’s all blog material!)

Today’s track

Today’s recipe

Beef stroganoff

wpid-20130315_195031_LLS.jpg

Serves 4

Ingredients

3 sirloin steaks

oil for frying

1 onion, chopped

3 handfuls of mushrooms, chopped

2 tsp paprika

2 pinches ground nutmeg

1 glass of white wine

250mls soured cream

tagliatelle to serve

Method: Put each steak between two layers of clingfilm and beat with a tenderiser or rolling pin until about the thickness of a pound coin. Cut into strips.

Heat the oil and sear quickly, removing onto a plate.

Add more oil to the pan if needed and cook the onion till soft. Tip in the mushrooms and cook. One they are starting to lose their moisture add the paprika and nutmeg. Add the wine and boil till reduced by half. Stir in the soured cream then add the beef back to the pan to heat through. Serve on a bed of tagliatelle.

2 comments

  1. thebuddster · March 16, 2013

    We have a similar issue with our email system. Namely its an old version of Outlook so the only phones which can get push emails on are iPhones.
    Also hear what you’re saying about using your own tech for work. Currently I’m trying to get a couple of devices for our guys to use for tweeting as they’re using their own now. However, having issues getting this signed off. Like you say insurance is the big issue for us using our own phones.

    • carolynemitchell · March 16, 2013

      I suspect everyone is going through similar experiences and I think everyone downgrades on every device and piece of software when they go to work. Cheers for the feedback – I’m getting the feeling we’re on the verge of a revolution 😉

Leave a Reply

