Bon voyage, moi

So I finished up at work today for our Easter holiday. I had to do a quick tidy up as our new Head of Service starts the day I come back – basically I tidied up the piles of things to do. I even remembered to put on my out-of-office. Tomorrow there’s last-minute packing, money to change, bathrooms to clean, a school assembly to attend and the cat to take to her holiday home. Hopefully I’ll be able to get up-to-date with my 3 online courses. I’m really enjoying them but I’m not looking forward to catching up on it all when I come back.

wpid-20130327_214923_LLS.jpg

You’ll all get a break from me too because I’m taking a holiday from the blog – normal service should resume on April 8, which reminds me I’ll be celebrating my birthday in French style while I’m there. Mmmmm – gateau šŸ™‚

Today’s track

Just to get me in the holiday mood šŸ˜‰

Today’s recipe

Cinnamon pear cake with vanilla fudge sauce

wpid-20130324_183913_LLS.jpg

This is unashamedly lifted from Nigel Slater’s Tender Volume II. The sauce is fab with so many things, and the cake works with apple too – it would probably also work with pineapple. This is so tasty I almost forgot to take a photo before I tucked in, hence the bit missing from the end.

Ingredients

For the cake:

200g butter at room temperature

200g caster sugar

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

200g self-raising flour

half a tsp baking powder

For the pears:

750g ripe pears

half a lemon

40g butter

3 tbsp light muscovado suger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

For the fudge sauce:

100g light muscovado sugar

100g golden syrup

50g butter

150mls double cream

vanilla extract

Method: Lightly grease a 24cm loose-bottomed, non-stick cake tin. Heat the oven to 160C/Gas 3.

Peel the pears, roughly chop them and place in a bowl of cold water with the juice of the half lemon added to stop them turning brown. Melt the butter and sugar in a shallow pan over a moderate heat stirring occasionally. Drain the pears and add them to the pan and cook until tender and the sauce is thick. Take them off the heat before the sugar turns dark and bitter. Set aside to cool.

To make the cake, cream the butter and sugar together until light and creamy. Add the eggs and a little flour alternately to stop the mixture curdling. Fold in the remaining flour and the baking powder, followed by the pears and their syrup. Scoop the mixture into the tin and bake for 45 minutes till risen and golden and a skewer comes out clean. Remove from the oven and leave to cool before removing from the tin.

To make the sauce put the sugar, golden syrup and butter in a small pan and bring to the boil, stirring only enough to stop it sticking. Stir in the cream and vanilla and leave to cool and thicken.

You can serve the cake cold or reheated with the sauce cold or reheated. A dollop of ice-cream wouldn’t go amiss too.

2 comments

  1. lelil · March 28, 2013

    Bonne vacances!

Leave a Reply

