Meet my professional digital footprint

So I let myself down and missed three posts at the weekend, although think I have pretty good excuses for two of them

On Friday next door had an impromptu candle party because the charity she was holding it for would get 35% of the commission if the order was in before midnight. Cue nibbles, wine, Stella Artois Cidre, much hilarity and my bank account a bit depleted.

On Saturday night we were at my folks’ house helping HimIndoors celebrate his birthday. I had meant to blog earlier in the day but ended up rushing about trying to pack bags, sort out the Minis and clean the house after a teenage sleepover.

Sunday night was spent catching up on washing and ironing and all I wanted to do in the evening was read a book and go to bed.

But tonight I’m back, slightly frazzled round the edges.

A comms colleague in another council emailed last week asking I could think of any exercises she could use to make interviewing digital comms candidates more meaningful and that would make the interview about the person rather than the spin any good PR person can put on just about anything.

I thought about it overnight but then I thought, really there is no point. These days a comms candidate’s skills and personality should hit you square between the eyes before they’ve even set foot in the building. The more I thought about it the more I realised that my digital footprint is my CV, application and job interview, all at a few clicks of a mouse or a few taps on a touchscreen.

Try it yourself, but not just on Google. Try Bing, IceRocket and Metacrawler but best of all try DuckDuckGo – it doesn’t filter bubble you like Google does.

This is a screenshot of the results when I search on my name.

DuckDuckGo

If you ignore the sponsored link there are 32 results in total and 22 of them are either my own accounts or other people talking about me.

First up is my Facebook account, which although I have the settings pretty secure, there’s nothing there I wouldn’t want my granny to see.

Next comes my LinkedIn account, my blog, my Quora account and a link to my Masters thesis – all legitimate things I’d want a future employer to see. After that comes my Prezi slides and a guest blog I did for Comms2point0 followed by a link to lovely comments from a residents’ association I went to talk to about the council website. After that I get mentions by Corrinne Douglas and Liz Azyan in their Storify account and blog respectively.

The next mention is in a blog by Paul Kearney, the Chief Security Researcher at BT Innovate and Design. We were on the same bill at a Business Continuity Conference and he says some lovely stuff about my presentation.

There’s even a link to a Blood Transfusion leaflet that used a quote from me about how easy it is to use their online booking.

The search results also reveal that my Masters thesis was used during a Really Useful Day, a few more mentions in blogs, hotel reviews from a trip to Paris and how I broke the story about John Barrowman falling off his horse during a performance of Jack and the Beanstalk (I tweeted it then the media picked it up).

And there you have it – solid evidence that I ‘do’ digital comms, that I share knowledge, that I know people at the top of their social media/comms game and that I am highly regarded by others in the field. I still find that last bit difficult to say – must be my good Calvinist upbringing. But that’s the thing – in an interview I probably wouldn’t be able to blow my own trumpet while online I have numerous top-notch referees who#ll do it for me.

So if you want to get ahead in comms, get blogging, tweeting and sharing. If you want to get the right person for the job, ignore competencies and application forms because your future employee’s digital footprint should contain everything you need to know – just ignore the things you don’t (unless it’s murder!)

From that I have learned:

  • people think I’m an entertaining and engaging speaker!
  • people think enough about what I write to retweet it and blog about it
  • social media can be a confidence boost

Today’s track

You know this brass section – play it, you know you want to!

Today’s recipe

Tortilla coated chicken

wpid-20130419_192009_LLS.jpg

I’m always on the lookout for different crumbs for coating chicken. This time it was the leftover tortilla chips that got it.

Ingredients:

3 chicken thighs each

half a huge bag of tortilla chips

a good tablespoon of American steakhouse seasoning (I get mine in Aldi’s)

2 tbsp plain flour

1 egg, beaten in a bowl

oil for frying

Method: Heat the oven to 200C /Gas 6.

Put the tortillas and the seasoning in a big freezer bag and bash them with a rolling pin till they look like breadcrumbs.

Put the flour on a plate, set the egg bowl next to it then a plate with the breadcrumbs next to that. Dip the thighs in the flour, then the egg, then roll in the tortilla crumbs to coat, then set aside on a plate.

Heat the oil to medium then flash fry on both sides till golden. Transfer to a baking sheet and cook in the oven for 35-40 minutes.

4 comments

  1. Janet E Davis · April 24, 2013

    Interesting. I hadn’t tried searching for myself on DuckDuckGo before, though I do Google myself when signed out from Google, after clearing cookies, and with ‘private browsing’ enabled now and then (very different results to when signed in!). Unfortunately, I have a very common name so whilst most of the first page results are me, there’s also a couple of dead ones (obituaries), a minister of religion, a music company, an academic chemist, artist in Hawaii… so my digital footprint might look an odd shape. My Twitter account comes top, my LinkedIn profile 2nd and my own blog 3rd, so that’s not bad – and I’m finding where I didn’t know my material was listed or quoted on the web. Thanks for blogging this!

    • carolynemitchell · April 24, 2013

      No problem – checking mine gave me the chance to update a few things 🙂

  2. Pingback: Meet my professional digital footprint | weeklyblogclub
  3. Pingback: In the thick of it as the times are a-changing | weeklyblogclub

Leave a Reply

