Help me with my pledge

I have been on the marketing/comms team for a new initiative for a few weeks now but last Friday’s meeting was the first I could attend.

Get Active Lanarkshire is a partnership between NHS Lanarkshire, North and South Lanarkshire Councils, South Lanarkshire Leisure and Culture, North Lanarkshire Leisure, Healthy Working Lives and the University of the West of Scotland. The aim is to get the people of Lanarkshire more active in the run-up to the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and hopefully to keep them active beyond.

At the meeting it became apparent that I should have been there earlier. There was a leaflet getting signed off which had no mention of a Facebook page or a Twitter account. Turns out there wasn’t a Facebook page or a Twitter account. I quickly explained that this is exactly the kind of project that lends itself to social media, especially Facebook because people can post up the activities they’ve been doing and pledge online in front of their Facebook family and friends – the wall will look after itself.

There were 10 minutes left of the meeting so I knuckled down, logged on to a free PC and set up a gmail account, a Twitter account and a Facebook page just so we could be sure we had the domain/account names we wanted and the leaflets could go to print with the Facebook and Twitter logos on them.

This afternoon I uploaded avatar pics, covers and headers. Then I sent out some invitations on Facebook to like the page. It’s funny but we have an inordinate amount of roller derby players liking it – I can’t think why 😉 In an afternoon we’re more than half way to the requisite 30 likes to get the analytics feeding into it.

Now we have to decide who’s going to be looking after these accounts but the thing that’s worrying me is that all the members of the team have to take the Get Active Pledge. Every now and again I promise myself to always use the stairs but it lasts a week then I’m back to the lift. I love t’ai chi but the class is too far away. I used to do Body Balance but it’s too much of a rush to get to class on time. In a former life I used to be a contemporary dancer but I stopped when I was 33 and heavily pregnant with MiniMe. I loved trapeze but I doubt I’d be able to haul my ass up the rope now. And my absolute favourite – I used to play roller derby but then my Masters got in the way, I crashed the car and lost confidence in tackling the M8 at rush hour plus the fear of injuring myself became the elephant on the track.

2679045897_0f006c99a4_z

By the Library of Congress under Creative Commons Licence via Flickr

So what can I pledge to do that isn’t going to kill me, that doesn’t mean an evening class and isn’t metafit because most of the office bails out to that once a week and someone has to answer the phone? OK, so that last one sounds like a cop-out but I don’t do sweaty at lunch time plus that’s when I do my MOOCs.

All suggestions gratefully receive – just remember I need to have time to write this blog each night. Oh, and go and follow and like us please.

Today I have learned:

  • Twitter uses hidden urls which is why my access at work sometimes sucks
  • I am not alone in my crusade to open up access to social media – I have an ally in IT believe it or not!
  • fire drills in the middle of meeting sometimes means you can have a completely different meeting in the car park with great results

Tonight’s track

Cos I used to be a goth, OK.

Today’s recipe

Roasted lamb shanks in mulled wine sauce

wpid-20130428_141522_LLS.jpg

I had a bottle of mulled wine lurking in the wine rack – what can I say.

Ingredients

4 lamb shanks

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 onion, peeled and sliced

3 sprigs rosemary

3 sprigs thyme

10 peppercorns

1 bottle mulled wine (seems a shame to use normal red wine – just drink that)

3 red onions, peeled and quartered

3tbsp redcurrant jelly

Method:

Put the lamb shanks, carrot, white onion, herbs and peppercorns in a large casserole – I have to use my new copper jam pan that I bought in France because all my casseroles and pans were too small.Pour over the wine, cover and leave to marinate for about 5 hours, stirring every now and again.

Heat the oven to 190C/Gas 5. Put the casserole on the hob and bring to the boil. Cover and place in the oven for an hour. Remove the lid and cook for another hour.

Remove from the oven and take the lamb shanks out and put in a roasting dish with the red onion. Ladle over some of the sauce and put back into the oven for 25 minutes, basting if needed.

Strain the cooking juices into a pan and heat. Stir in the redcurrant jelly and stir till melted.

Serve with mash and Yorkie puds.

 

Leave a Reply

