Finding the time to read

This is a brief post because I bought a couple of books from Amazon which arrived yesterday. I started it on the bus this morning and I’m hooked so I want to get back to reading it if that’s OK with you.

It’s Super Freakonomics: Global cooling, patriotic prostitutes and why suicide bombers should buy life insurance by Steven D Levitt and Stephen J Dubner and it’s fuelling my need to know more about behavioural economics. I think if I had the money I’d track down another Masters course but I don’t have the money or the time.

The title of the book was enough for me to buy it and even the introduction is intriguing. If you’d had too much to drink at a party and your only options were to drive home or walk home which would you do? We’d all walk, right? Well, weighing up all the stats you’re less likely to cause injury to yourself or anyone else by driving drunk than walking drunk. So really we should get a taxi. Again it’s another of those books that has been written in an engaging and funny style but is based on academic research.

From the State Library of New South Wales collection under Creative Commons Licence via Flickr

From the State Library of New South Wales collection under Creative Commons Licence via Flickr

So that’s about it for tonight so I can get back to reading about the fact that in the early 1900s in America, 1 in every 50 women aged between 15 and 44 was a prostitute and some made the equivalent of $76,000 each year – I can’t go to bed with that chapter unfinished!

Today I have learned:

  • business process mapping is becoming a necessary tool for my comms job
  • I should maybe do some process mapping training so I can do it myself

Today’s track

Today’s recipe

Chicken and pear tagine

wpid-20130429_185855_LLS.jpg

Ingredients

oil for frying and a slice of butter

2 onions, sliced

25g ginger chopped

2 cinnamon sticks

half a tsp turmeric

4 chicken fillets, cubed

a large slice of butter

3-4 tbsp runny homey

3 pears, peeled, cored and quartered

salt and pepper

1-2 tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Method:

Heat the oil and butter in a large heavy-based pan. Add the onions and ginger and fry till soft. Ad the cinnamon and turmeric. Put in the chicken and coat it well with the onions and spiced oil. Pour in 600mls water and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 40 minutes.

Meanwhile melt the butter in a frying pan and stir in the honey. Add the pears and coat with the butter. Cook gently till they start to caramelise. Add the pears to the chicken pan and cook for another 10 minutes. Season to taste.

Serve with couscous and the sesame seeds scattered over the top.

3 comments

  1. lazybill · May 3, 2013

    I love my tagine but I’m still struggling to come to terms with eating fruit in stews. Pickled lemons are ok but pears, prunes and apricots are a struggle.

    • carolynemitchell · May 3, 2013

      I’m guessing you don’t have apples with pork sausages or prunes with pork chops then either. Butternut squash is always good in a tagine and could replace the fruit but then tagines don’t alway have to have fruit in them. Just go with what you fancy 🙂

  2. Shoshana · October 18, 2013

    Wondrrful itemns from you, man. I have be aware your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have got
    right here, really like what you’re stating annd the best way
    by which yoou assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to stay
    it sensible. I can not wait to learn much mode
    from you. This is actually a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

